How to Upload a Post to WordPress

Posted By on Jan 3, 2014 | 0 comments


Video Transcript

Hi everyone, Hudson here with Alchemy On Demand. I just wanted to take a quick second to show you how to upload a post to your WordPress blog if you have one. So what you’re first going to need to do is to go ahead and go to your site’s name. In order to enter the backend of your site, you’ll need to enter your site’s name followed by a forward slash and wp-admin.

That should take you to the login info. If your site is set to remember you, you’ll jump right in there like I am. If it’s not set to remember you, you’ll have to enter your username and password, but then you’ll come to this page. This page is your dashboard and it’ll give you a quick breakdown of your site.

What we’re going to focus on is adding new posts, so I’ll just go over here and focus on posts, not pages. So I’ll just go ahead and click posts, and you’ll get a breakdown of all your posts. If you want to add a new one, just go ahead and click “add new.”

And there you go. You’ll be in the backend of the site where you can add a new post to your blog.

I’ll go ahead and do a quick walkthrough of things and touch on things in a cursory manner, I wont go into too much depth because I want to keep things brief. Here you can enter a title, then you can go and enter content, and here you’ll see a kitchen sink, right? This will allow you to go ahead and do the formatting you need to do when editing in WordPress.

Say you wanted to add some bold text, change this font color, underline it, strikethrough it – you can do that here.

That’s essentially the long and short of adding a new post. I’d like to direct your attention to the publishing module. Which is this area over here. WordPress is very powerful with this thing. WordPress has a lot of cool features here that they let you play with.

So you’ll see this “Save Draft” “Preview” “Publish” “Move to Trash. Those are your four general options. Let’s say that I created this post and the site is live, but I only want the people who I’m collaborating with to be able to see it. So I might make the visibility private or password protected. So I’d go over here and select “private” and hit “ok.” So now if I publish this post – hit update and publish it – only those who are logged into the backend of my site and logged in like I am and have the administrative power to edit my posts will be able to see it. Only they will be able to see it on the “front end” of the site too.

Speaking of which, the “front end” of your site is how the user interacts with your site – how the site looks to everyone else not in this backend area. So let’s say that I was working on this and I wasn’t done with this and I just wanted to save it as a draft, I’d just go ahead and set this back to “public” and save this as a draft. Now I’ve already gone ahead and published this as “Private” and WordPress is going to think that this is published privately, and so I don’t have that option anymore, but that’s fine we’ll just go ahead and save this as private for now, and that’s fine – keep in mind that when private only those who are allowed to can see it.

so now we can go ahead and set it to publish at a different date if you want to. This is a great feature because let’s say that you’re writing on the weekend but you know that most people read your blog on Mondays, you can set it to publish whenever you like. You have your date, your time, here. So that’s where that is, right? This is a plugin feature from jetpack that lets me publish to various social media platforms. I’m going to go ahead and take that off because this is for practice purposes. Umm… so go ahead and post immediately, and make sure my visibility is set to private – privately published so I  know I won’t publish to my social media platforms and only the backend, only the people I know have access to the site already are going to be able to see this. So go ahead and update.

And then you can go ahead and click on “View My Post” and view your post and see how it looks on the front end of my site. So here we are. So you can see this “Private” you can see that this is letting you know that only those logged in can see it. This won’t be visible – only the title will be visible once you set this to public or “regular” publishing. Here you can see my content. And that’s about it.  That is how you publish a post. If you wanted to add media that’s fine, that’s another option, but I think we’re going to save that for another tutorial. So if you have any other questions, please feel free to let me know and thanks for watching!

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *